Rss Feed

Gluten in Medication

When you need to buy a prescription drug it is best to tell the pharmacist that you need a product that is gluten-free. The pharmacist can check with the manufacturer. Most over-the-counter drugs do contain gluten. There is usually an 800 number on the package you can call for product information. If you or a member of your family should not eat gluten, it is best to research common medicines in advance so you know which ones you can use when the occasion arises. glutenfreesupportoftoledo.com will also help you find that information.

The Controversy of Oats

In the past, oats have always been considered a grain that should not be eaten in a gluten-free diet. This was mainly because all oats were processed or grown in a wheat, barley or rye contaminated environment.

oats

Recently, oats have been grown in a contamination-free environment and considered all right for a gluten-free diet. Research supports this, however, not for everyone and not all varieties of oats. The basic guide is that some oats are safe for some people. Even uncontaminated oat protein affects some people.

The best advice for eating oats is to wait until you are progressing well on your gluten-free diet and not having any symptoms. At that time you could try some of the uncontaminated oats. If the symptoms reappear, then stop eating oats. It is possible to have a reaction with no symptoms which may not be detected in a blood test. Highly sensitive people and people with severe cases of celiac disease should avoid oats.

A gluten-free support group is the best way to make sense of required new eating habits, shopping and understanding labels, facing societal pressures about food in your social and business life and learning how to live a normal lifestyle gluten-free. You may feel hungry all the time while your body adjusts to absorbing nutrients again. After a few months on a gluten-free diet your hunger levels will be back to normal and you will feel like a new person.